Our beautiful, rural village is steeped in fascinating history with plenty of local lore, myth and many a story. Some of the oldest parts of the village still visible today, can be dated back to the Twelfth century. Monkton Farleigh was first used as a settlement by the Romans some 2000 years ago and one of the most interesting old buildings is the Monk’s Well, opposite the village’s pub.
The Manor House
The earliest part of the manor house (built of materials from the priory and dating from the 16th century) is on the western side. There were additions in the 17th century, and in the 18th century further extensive additions were made. Above the mullioned windows are 12th and 13th century carved fragments from the adjoining monastic site, including a coffin lid with a carved cross. The cellars of the house belonged to the original conventual buildings of the priory.
The house was occupied by the Seymour family from 1737 to 1804. In 1812 the lease was acquired from the Bishop of Salisbury by John son of Richard Long of Rood Ashton, on whose death in 1833 it passed to his son John. The Longs retained the lease until 1842, when it passed to Wade Browne. After his death in 1851 it was sublet to a succession of tenants, and eventually the Ecclesiastical Commissioners formed the manor into a freehold estate, and the part of it attached to the manor house, along with the house itself, was sold in 1873 to Sir Charles Hobhouse, whose descendants are the present owners.
Below, you’ll find some links to interesting information about Monkton Farleigh’s history:
British History – Monkton Farleigh: all about the Monks history, dating back to 1077.